Post Format

The Spoiled, Bratty Overlocker

2 comments

DSC_0420-minBack in September, I purchased a brand spankin’ new Janome 8002dx, simply because I wanted to sew knitted fabrics.  And sew she did!

A few days ago, I went to the trouble of making an overlocker cover from the beautifully simple Pattern Emporium Overlocker / Thermomix Cover pattern.  In the midst of this project, my overlocker died.  The timing was off, it wouldn’t stay threaded no matter what, it was doing my head in!

Off to the shop we went, and boy, am I glad that the machine carried on in such a way that had three brand new needles bent in different directions and so many clunks and shudders that the shop owner had her head in her hands.

DSC_0418-minTwo weeks on, and the machine is back.  The service agent for Janome in Queensland said I hadn’t loaded the needle correctly, but funnily enough, the needle had never been changed by me.  Always the lady in the shop.  The joys of

The outer fabric is from the Art Gallery Fabrics Wanderer collection, and the lining and self-made bias tape from the Art Gallery Fabrics Rapture.  Although, it’s worthy of noting, I did not use a bias tape maker so these crazy burnt fingers are proud of the result.

 

Posted by

Nearly twenty, the owner of a blog about my love for expensive houses, fabric, hours spent at the sewing machine, acing the art of pinterest fails and overall being an all round goof. Follow me on my adventure through life in my craft.

2 Comments Join the Conversation

    • Not the fingerprints! I have since purchased a bias tape maker, but it was pretty easy to make it without it (minus the steam setting!)

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

