Post Format

No Surprises Here!

Leave a Reply
Gifting to your significant other can be nerve wracking, especially when they’re the kind of person who tends to purchase the items they want or need before even considering that they could receive it as a gift!  My dearest M is this person, to a tee, so this Christmas like many before, we did something which most people consider completely unorthodox.
We asked each other for a certain item.
And I’m not meaning just “a fishing rod” or “sunglasses”.  We both spent a good deal of time considering qualities of the items that we most wanted.  His was, in fact, a fancy fishing rod which I ordered from a local shop and haggled until he promised to charge me the advertised price unlike the one that he had made up.  The perks of actually doing some research!  I personally had been pining for a pair of glasses since I decided I could not for the life in me ever afford them, until searching online and discovering that the stores that I had tried them on in where nearly $300 more expensive than the internet.
It didn’t strike me as something abnormal until talking to my mum and she seemed so shocked that we weren’t surprising each other and demanded I bought a $20 surprise gift, on top of the fishing rod.
This doesn’t mean either of us will be doing this every Christmas, but for a busy year where we’ve already purchased what we needed or wanted, it has worked out well.
How do you deal with difficult gifting?  Do you love surprises or are you happy with exchanging most wanted gifts?
Posted by

Nearly twenty, the owner of a blog about my love for expensive houses, fabric, hours spent at the sewing machine, acing the art of pinterest fails and overall being an all round goof. Follow me on my adventure through life in my craft.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

